12 Jyotirlingas in India

By | May 17, 2024

Join WhatsApp Group

Join Telegram Channel

12 Jyotirlingas of India: Visions of Shiva’s Divine Form

Jyotirlinga means a self-manifested form of Shiva. There are 12 Jyotirlingas in India, which are very sacred places for Shiva devotees. Each Jyotirlinga has its own significance and history.

These 12 Jyotirlingas are as follows:

  1. Somnath, Gujarat
  2. Mallikarjuna, Andhra Pradesh
  3. Mahakaleshwar, Madhya Pradesh
  4. Omkareshwar, Madhya Pradesh
  5. Kedarnath, Uttarakhand
  6. Bhimashankar, Maharashtra
  7. Vishwanath, Uttar Pradesh
  8. Trimbakeshwar, Maharashtra
  9. Vaidyanath, Jharkhand
  10. Nageshwar, Gujarat
  11. Rameswaram, Tamil Nadu
  12. Ghrishneshwar, Maharashtra

Importance of Jyotirlinga Yatra:

Jyotirlinga Yatra is a very important pilgrimage for the devotees of Shiva. It is believed that darshan of Jyotirlinga destroys the sins of the devotees and attains moksha.

Things to keep in mind while doing Jyotirlinga Yatra:

Each Jyotirlinga temple has its own rules and laws. Know these rules before traveling.
It is very important to maintain cleanliness during the journey.
Devotees should chant mantras of Shiva during the journey.
Devotees should donate after completing the Yatra.

Jyotirlinga Yatra is a highly spiritual and purifying experience for devotees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *